Annually, Buckeye Lake for Tomorrow awards scholarships to three lake-area high school graduates. The $1,000 individual scholarships are funded by the Doris Orr Kaspar Foundation, in memory of Buckeye Lake for Tomorrow founder and civic activist Merv Bartholow. Merv worked diligently to improve water quality in the Buckeye Lake watershed and inspired many others to join the cause.

• Awards are made to students who maintain an outstanding overall record during their high school years, plan to study a STEM field, STEM education or agricultural related field in college, and respond effectively in an essay about water quality issues in the Buckeye Lake watershed. Merv Bartholow Scholarship applications can be downloaded and printed from the following links:

Lakewood High School Bartholow Scholarship Application

Millersport High School Bartholow Scholarship Application

Sheridan High School Bartholow Scholarship Application

2023 Recipients

• Hunter Zizek – Sheridan – Mechanical Engineering – Ohio University

• Alayna Thompson – Millersport – Radiologic Sciences – Ohio State University

• Storm Negele – Lakewood – Biomedical Science – University of Michigan

2022 Recipients

• Blaine Hannan – Sheridan – Environmental Sciences – Muskingum College

• Nathan Turner – Millersport – Biological Sciences – Ohio University

• Emma Graham – Lakewood – Nursing – University of Mt. Union

2021 Recipients:

• Sara Robinette – Sheridan – Wildlife/Fisheries – University of Rio Grande

• Aimee Foltz – Millersport – Mt. Carmel College of Nursing

• Riley Jones – Lakewood – Biology at Miami University

2020 Recipients:

• Katelyn Cranes – Sheridan – Biochemistry – West Virginia University

• Andrew Warner – Millersport – Freshwater/Aquatic Biology at Bowling Green

• Anthony Toskin – Lakewood – Chemical Engineering at Walsh University

2019 Recipients:

• Jayni Lamb – Sheridan – Chemistry – Capital

• Hailey Waibel – Millersport – Animal Science at Ohio State

• Jennifer Spires – Lakewood – Pre-Med at Dennison